Normal view

There are new articles available, click to refresh the page.
Before yesterdayCryptonews

XRP News: XRPL Records 2K Transactions from 20 Wallets

14 September 2026 at 08:32

The XRP Ledger processed a record 3,254 transactions in ledger 106,965,249 yesterday, but 2,000 of the news came from just 20 accounts sending identical 1-drop payments, each worth one-millionth of an XRP.

The new high overtook two earlier single-ledger marks of 2,713 and 2,768 transactions, both set within a day of the record. At least 890 transactions failed with tec result codes but still burned fees, and the 20-account batch alone paid about 0.04 XRP in fees while moving just 0.002 XRP.

The XRPL is in the news after processing a record 3.2K TXs in ledger 106,965,249 yesterday, but 2,000 of those came from just 20 wallets.
XRP TX Counts/Price, Glassnode

Discover: The Best Token Presales

Twenty Wallets, One Ledger

Ledger 106,965,249 closed on Sunday, Sept. 13, holding 3,254 transactions, a number far outside the normal range for the network. A scan of 7,600 consecutive ledgers from 18:00 UTC on Sept. 13 to 02:00 UTC on Sept. 14 found 638,801 transactions in total, an average of about 84 per ledger, with only 43 ledgers in that window topped 2,000 transactions, and only the record ledger cleared 2,800.

Twenty accounts sent exactly 100 transactions each, contributing 2,000 of the 3,254 total, and every one was a 1-drop payment. Combined, that batch moved just 0.002 XRP, less than a cent at current prices, while each transaction paid a 20-drop fee, meaning the group burned roughly five cents in aggregate to generate a transaction record with effectively zero economic transfer.

The remaining activity was more typical of ordinary XRP Ledger usage: 458 OfferCreate orders on the built-in decentralized exchange, 229 ticket creations, 74 check cashes, and 22 trust-line changes.

3254 transactions in a single block a few hours ago on the XRP Ledger. New record.

Good opportunity to review an interesting characteristic of the XRP Ledger vs Bitcoin.

Our blocks are dynamic in size limits and not fixed like Bitcoin. XRPL transaction capacity is an adaptive…

— Vet (@Vet_X0) September 14, 2026

At least 890 transactions in the ledger failed outright with tec result codes, mostly payments whose paths ran dry or fill-or-kill orders that could not be filled. Daily XRPL activity stayed above 2 million transactions through early September, according to the report, peaking at 2.572 million on Sept. 3, so the concentrated 1-drop batch stands out as an anomaly rather than a continuation of a broader adoption trend.

As wallet concentration has shown elsewhere on XRP, a small cluster of addresses can distort network statistics without reflecting a shift in genuine demand.

Hussein Zangana, the XRP Ledger Foundation’s community director known as Vet on X, flagged the news in a public post and said the pattern most likely reflected throughput testing, noting that simple XRP payments place a very low load on the network. He did not identify who was behind the batch.

Earn $50 and Enter $300K Prize Draw on EdgeX

XRP News: Why The Fees Didn’t Spike?

Under XRPL’s own transaction-result documentation, a tec failure still destroys the XRP paid as a transaction cost and consumes a sequence number, even though the underlying action never completes. That means failed payments and unfilled offers padded the ledger’s transaction count without delivering any successful transfer, inflating the record’s headline number relative to its actual economic content.

The ledger absorbed the load without a fee spike because XRPL uses dynamic size limits rather than fixed block caps like Bitcoin. The network’s soft limit rises when a ledger contains more transactions than expected and falls if consensus takes longer than five seconds, and early Monday, the expected ledger size sat at 3,082 transactions with the open-ledger fee still at the 10-drop minimum.

xrp logo
Xrp (XRP)
24h7d30d1yAll time

A small sliver of the record ledger pointed to more substantive use: eight transactions carried memos from t54 labs’ x402 facilitator, the tool that lets AI agents pay for services in XRP and RLUSD, following the network’s milestone of 1 million AI agent transactions in July.

For traders, the takeaway is straightforward: a transaction record is not the same as a demand signal. The event is best read alongside other XRP catalysts this month that carry more direct implications for price, since whale-driven or bot-driven network activity has repeatedly diverged from actual buying pressure on XRP.

Trade XRP on Bybit and Get a Chance to Win Our $1,000 USDT Airdrop

The post XRP News: XRPL Records 2K Transactions from 20 Wallets appeared first on Cryptonews.

Revolut Customer Records Exposed: Attackers Demand 10,000 BTC

14 September 2026 at 05:38

Revolut disclosed sensitive customer records to an unauthorized party after fraudulent data requests arrived from an email address on a legitimate government domain, the company confirmed on Saturday, September 12. The exposed material may include identity documents, verification selfies, account statements, and transaction histories containing Bitcoin activity.

Revolut told TechCrunch that a limited number of customers were affected and that its systems and customer funds remained unaffected. The incident raises privacy concerns because identity records and Bitcoin transaction histories may have been disclosed to an unauthorized party.

So what has happened? Someone impersonated a government agency using an address on that agency’s own domain, and the request cleared Revolut’s checks before it was identified as fraudulent. Customer information was disclosed during that period.

🚨BREAKING: Revolut attackers demand 10,000 BTC ransom, threatening to leak stolen customer data.

The threat actors who allegedly tricked Revolut into handing over sensitive customer data by posing as a government are now publishing information belonging to high-profile clients.… https://t.co/kJi58fAHaa pic.twitter.com/5IIaCHHOYT

— Coin Bureau (@coinbureau) September 14, 2026

The notification Revolut emailed to affected customers listed birth dates, postal and email addresses, phone numbers, and copies of identity documents such as passports and driving licenses. Verification selfies, account statements, and transaction histories may also have been disclosed, the bank said.

Revolut said it blocked the sender’s address after detecting the scheme and alerted the government agency concerned, as well as law enforcement, data protection authorities, and financial regulators. A company spokesperson characterized the episode as an external impersonation scam and said the company’s systems and customer funds were unaffected.

Trade XRP on Bybit and Get a Chance to Win Our $1,000 USDT Airdrop

ZachXBT Flags Bitcoin Exposure

Crypto investigator ZachXBT publicized the notice in a Telegram post and added several items Revolut’s own notification did not list: IBANs, withdrawal records, occupations, and transaction history covering Bitcoin. He assessed the incident as limited in scale and aimed at high-net-worth users.

A Revolut data breach exposed identity records and Bitcoin transaction histories after a fraudulent government-domain request cleared checks.
ZachXBT Telegram

Revolut has not disclosed an exact number of affected customers. The company also has not stated that crypto holders or wealthy customers were specifically targeted, so the assessment of the apparent target group remains separate from Revolut’s primary disclosure.

Earn $50 and Enter $300K Prize Draw on EdgeX

What’s Next for Revolut Users?

Bitcoin’s blockchain records transactions publicly, while personal details such as a passport or home address sit outside the network. Financial intermediaries can connect those different types of information through the records they collect. This incident illustrates the privacy concern when identity documents are disclosed alongside Bitcoin transaction histories.

Information that includes names, addresses, contact details, and transaction histories can create a more detailed picture of an affected customer than any one category of data alone. The reporting does not document a follow-on misuse of the information in this incident, but it highlights the sensitivity of records that link personal information with financial activity.

this is actually insane, these types of things sound inconvenient but they can lead to home invasions and losing millions

at this point, it should be made literally illegal to do anything but ZK-based KYC if KYC (which doesn't work) must be done

we have the tech https://t.co/Bl80YbFMAR

— mert (@mert) September 12, 2026

Revolut’s response included blocking the sender, notifying regulators, and contacting affected customers directly. The episode also focuses attention on how financial institutions assess requests that appear to come from government agencies and on the scope of information released when those requests are accepted as legitimate.

For crypto users who use Revolut or similar platforms, the incident is a reminder that crypto privacy can depend on how intermediaries handle identity documents, account records, and transaction histories. Revolut said customer funds remained safe, while the disclosure shows that fraud involving an apparently legitimate government-domain email can still expose sensitive customer data.

Discover: The Best Token Presales

The post Revolut Customer Records Exposed: Attackers Demand 10,000 BTC appeared first on Cryptonews.

Ethereum News: Frame Transactions Join Ethereum’s 2027 Upgrade Roadmap

8 September 2026 at 08:09

In Ethereum news today, a wallet can hold stablecoins but still can’t move them because Ethereum charges transaction fees in ETH. Without enough Ethereum to cover the fee, the wallet cannot submit the transaction.

Ethereum developers have scheduled a proposed fix for the 2027 Hegotá upgrade, although the design would not change the fact that the network will continue to charge fees in ETH.

ETH USD is trading just under $2,500, at $2,480, down -0.9% over the past 24 hours, although it is still clinging to modest gains of +0.3% in the past week. Daily trading volume sits at $10.8M, up from $9M yesterday.

Ethereum Developers Find New Path For Smarter Transactions

Ethereum's EIP 8141 authors have found a new way to make transactions more programmable.

The proposal uses programmable contract calls called “frames” for transaction features. These frames could handle validation, gas… pic.twitter.com/NnhSaraVLz

— BSCN (@BSCNews) September 7, 2026

Ethereum News Today: 2027 Upgrade Timeline

Core developers moved EIP-8141, known as Frame Transactions, to Scheduled for Inclusion during their Aug. 27 All Core Developers Execution call. The change gives the proposal a formal place in the planned Hegotá upgrade rather than leaving it only under consideration.

Hegotá is planned for 2027 and follows Glamsterdam, Ethereum’s next network upgrade. Ethereum groups protocol changes into codenamed upgrades, and Frame Transactions is now among the changes planned for Hegotá.

That status does not mean Frames is complete. The specification remains a draft; technical details can still change before deployment, and Frame Transactions cannot be used on Ethereum mainnet today. Implementation and testing work remain part of the path toward Hegotá’s planned deployment.

Ethereum may soon accept Ripple's RLUSD for Gas payments @Ethereum core developers confirm a roadmap update that allows users to settle transaction fees using regulated stablecoins instead of $ETH.

This protocol-level shift, targeted for a 2027 mainnet activation, aims to… pic.twitter.com/e8tK13Kw5f

— BSCN (@BSCNews) September 7, 2026

Why Frame Transactions Matter for Gas Payments

EIP-8141 addresses wallets holding stablecoins or tokens that can’t be transferred without ETH for gas fees. The proposal introduces “Frames,” which separate authorization, fee payment, and execution.

This lets a payments application cover the ETH fee or handle Ethereum payments on the user’s behalf, so the sender and fee payer don’t have to be the same. Validators would still receive fees in Ethereum, but this change allows users to transact without having to acquire ETH directly.

Some wallet systems already support sponsored transactions, and Frames aim to incorporate this functionality into Ethereum’s regular transaction flow. The proposal has ten authors, including Vitalik Buterin, who recently highlighted the updated EIP text.

Make Your Prediction Count With $25 For Free on Kalshi

How EIP-8141 Would Work

In other Ethereum news, the proposal breaks down transactions into separate frames. One frame confirms user authorization, another handles fee payments, and subsequent frames execute the operations.

This allows the account sending funds to differ from the account paying the fees. Actions can be grouped, so if a trade fails, the related approval can be reversed in the same transaction.

Additionally, this approach allows accounts to set their own validation rules, enabling key rotation or different signature schemes without needing a new address.

It also opens the door for accounts to adopt quantum-resistant cryptography, effectively introducing account abstraction elements into Ethereum’s standard transaction framework without necessitating asset migration.

Earn $50 and Enter $300K Prize Draw on EdgeX

Ethereum News: The Upgrade Does Not Remove ETH From the System

In Ethereum news, EIP-8141 could let apps sponsor ETH gas payments in stablecoins, while network fees would still be paid in ETH
SOURCE: TradingView

It is important to distinguish between abstracting gas payments for users and removing ETH from Ethereum’s fee system. Ethereum would still be paid in ether under the Frames design. The proposal changes how the fee payer is arranged; it does not eliminate the fee or replace ETH in the network’s existing fee system.

For a sponsored transaction, an application or another account would still need to handle the ETH payment. A user might pay an application in stablecoins, but the application would settle the underlying network fee in Ethereum.

In that sense, the proposal can reduce the need for an individual wallet holder to acquire ETH while preserving ETH-denominated fee payment at the protocol level.

Existing systems can already offer related capabilities through infrastructure such as ERC-4337, UserOperations, bundlers, and paymasters. What EIP-8141 proposes is protocol-level integration of similar programmable transaction features into Ethereum’s normal flow.

The remaining caveat is the proposal’s status. Frames is scheduled for Hegotá but remains a draft, and its technical details may still change before the planned 2027 deployment.

Discover: The Best Crypto to Diversify Your Portfolio

The post Ethereum News: Frame Transactions Join Ethereum’s 2027 Upgrade Roadmap appeared first on Cryptonews.

Trump Crypto Empire Faces Scrutiny Over 49% Saudi Linked Stake in New Bank

28 August 2026 at 04:08

Trump-linked crypto venture company, World Liberty Financial, is preparing to launch a federally chartered national trust bank after the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency granted preliminary conditional approval earlier this month. An entity linked to Sheikh Tahnoon bin Zayed al Nahyan and co-investors reportedly owns 49% of the holding company, the largest stake in that structure.

Abu Dhabi Sheikh Tahnoon and Co-Investors Hold 49% Stake in World Liberty’s New Bank Holding Company

Sheikh Tahnoon bin Zayed al Nahyan, the UAE’s national security adviser, and co-investors hold a 49% stake in WLTC Holdings, the holding company for World Liberty Financial’s… pic.twitter.com/jZWVPbucVi

— Wu Blockchain (@WuBlockchain) August 27, 2026

The proposed bank is intended to issue, redeem, and safeguard USD1, the dollar-backed stablecoin World Liberty launched last year. The venture links World Liberty’s stablecoin business to a proposed federally chartered trust bank.

The OCC’s action is preliminary and conditional rather than a final banking charter. According to the Journal, the approval concerns World Liberty Financial’s plan to launch a federally chartered national trust bank.

The proposed bank’s stated functions are to issue, redeem, and safeguard USD1. The conditional approval does not amount to a final charter.

Discover: The Best Crypto to Diversify Your Portfolio

Trump Crypto Bank and The 49% Stake

Sheikh Tahnoon bin Zayed al Nahyan and co-investors are behind an entity that owns the largest stake, 49%, in World Liberty’s banking holding company, according to people familiar with the matter who spoke to the Journal. The Journal previously reported that Tahnoon backed a $500 million investment in World Liberty Financial last year in exchange for a 49% stake in the company.

The reported holding-company stake places an entity linked to Tahnoon and co-investors in the ownership structure of the proposed bank.

Trump-linked WLFI won conditional OCC approval for a trust bank tied to USD1 crypto, with a Saudi-linked entity holding 49%.
Sheikh Tahnoon bin Zayed Al Nahyan.

Tahnoon serves as the United Arab Emirates’ national security adviser and is the brother of the country’s president. He oversees a business empire valued at more than $1.3 trillion and funded by his personal fortune and state money, according to the Journal.

Visit MEXC

An Expanded Business Relationship

The new venture marks an expansion of the business relationship between the Trump-backed crypto company and a foreign government official, according to the Journal. World Liberty Financial is pursuing a proposed bank whose holding company ownership includes an entity linked to Tahnoon and co-investors.

Close-up of the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency seal and lettering on a stone wall
The exterior signage of the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.

The OCC’s preliminary conditional approval and the reported ownership structure are central elements of the proposed venture. The bank’s planned role is tied to USD1’s issuance, redemption, and safeguarding.

The approval remains preliminary and conditional. World Liberty Financial’s proposed bank has not yet received a final charter. For now, the proposed bank’s stated role is to issue, redeem, and safeguard USD1.

Discover: The Best Token Presales

The post Trump Crypto Empire Faces Scrutiny Over 49% Saudi Linked Stake in New Bank appeared first on Cryptonews.

Ripple Payment Rails Separated From FedNow Access by Volante

24 August 2026 at 06:16

Volante Technologies offers U.S. banks and financial institutions a unified solution for the Federal Reserve’s FedNow Service and The Clearing House’s RTP real-time payments network. Separately, Volante’s cross-border payment materials list Ripple and digital currencies among the services its platform processes.

The available materials describe separate capabilities, while the Federal Reserve’s FedNow participants and service providers page does not mention XRP or Ripple.

Volante says its cloud-native cross-border payments platform processes SWIFT gpi, Ripple, Visa B2B, Mastercard Send, digital currencies, alternative payments, and other services from a single platform. The company also describes connectivity to SWIFT, blockchain networks, major card networks, and alternative payment rails.

Infographic showing a 6-step cross-border payment flow cycle around a central mobile payment icon.

This architecture presents multiple payment and messaging options through one provider. Volante’s cross-border materials identify Ripple alongside other rails, while its FedNow announcement describes a separate unified offering for FedNow and TCH RTP.

Discover: The Best Token Presales

Volante’s FedNow Offering Ripple Payment

In an announcement, Volante said it was offering U.S. banks and financial institutions a single unified solution for the FedNow Service and TCH RTP real-time payments. The company said adopters could begin with TCH RTP and add the FedNow Service when the network was ready.

The announcement said Volante had joined the FedNow Pilot Program in early 2021 and was a prospective participant in the Federal Reserve’s FedNow Service Provider Showcase. It described capabilities for real-time and instant payments and said Volante’s FedNow offering would be extensible to wire, ACH, and SWIFT. However, the announcement does not refer to Ripple or XRP.

The Federal Reserve’s FedNow participants and service providers page describes the FedNow Service as instant-payments infrastructure through which participating banks and credit unions can send and receive transactions within seconds on behalf of customers, 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Illustration of a clock integrated with dollar bills and the text defining FedNow as an instant-payment platform.
Infographic explaining the FedNow instant-payment platform from Investopedia.

Trade XRP on Bybit and Get a Chance to Win Our $1,000 USDT Airdrop

Keeping the Distinction Clear

Volante’s materials support two separate points: the company offers a FedNow and TCH RTP solution for U.S. financial institutions, and its cross-border platform processes Ripple among a broader set of payment services. The supplied materials do not describe a shared settlement mechanism between FedNow and Ripple.

Xrp (XRP)
24h7d30d1yAll time

A direct statement from FedNow connecting the service to XRP or Ripple would be needed to establish such a link. Based on the materials reviewed, Volante’s FedNow offering and its Ripple-related cross-border capability should be treated as separate parts of the vendor’s platform.

Discover: The Best Crypto to Diversify Your Portfolio

The post Ripple Payment Rails Separated From FedNow Access by Volante appeared first on Cryptonews.

❌
❌